Welcome to Sioux City Community Theatre

    Now Showing:

    (March 2 – 18, 2018)

    Michael Frayn’s Noises Off takes a fond look at the follies of theatre folk, whose susceptibility to out-of-control egos, memory loss, and passionate affairs turn every performance into a high-risk adventure. This play-within-a-play captures a touring theatre troupe’s production of Nothing On in three stages: dress rehearsal, the opening performance, and a performance towards the end of a debilitating run. Frayne gives us a window into the inner workings of theatre behind the scenes, progressing from flubbed lines and missed cues in the dress rehearsal to mounting friction between cast members in the final performance. Brimming with slapstick comedy, Noises Off is a delightful backstage farce, complete with slamming doors, falling trousers, and – of course – flying sardines!

    Performance Dates:
    Friday, March 2 – 7:30 PM
    Saturday, March 3 – 7:30 PM

    Friday, March 9 – 7:30 PM
    Saturday, March 10 – 7:30 PM
    Sunday, March 11 – 2:00 PM

    Thursday, March 15 – 7:30 PM
    Friday, March 16 – 7:30 PM
    Saturday, March 17 – 7:30 PM
    Sunday, March 18 – 2:00 PM

    Coming Soon:

    (May 11 – 27, 2018)

    The spark behind Leaving Iowa comes from being children of parents from the now dubbed “greatest generation.” The story is a toast to their idealism and character and a little roast of their undying dedication to the classic family road trip. More specifically, it is the story of Don Browning, a middle-aged writer, who returns home and decides to finally take his father’s ashes to his childhood home, as requested. But when Don discovers Grandma’s house is now a grocery store, he begins traveling across Iowa searching for a proper resting place for his father. This father-and-son road trip shifts smoothly from the present to Don’s memories of the annual, torturous vacations of his childhood. Don’s existential journey leads him to reconcile his past and present at the center of the United States. Leaving Iowa is a postcard to anyone who has ever found himself or herself driving alone on a road, revisiting fond memories of his or her youth.

    Performance Dates:
    Friday, May 11 – 7:30 PM
    Saturday, May 12 – 7:30 PM

    Friday, May 18 – 7:30 PM
    Saturday, May 19 – 7:30 PM
    Sunday, May 20 – 2:00 PM

    Thursday, May 24 – 7:30 PM
    Friday, May 25 – 7:30 PM
    Saturday, May 26 – 7:30 PM
    Sunday, May 27 – 2:00 PM

    Our Supporters

    Want to support the Community Theatre?     Get In Touch

    © Copyright 2013 Sioux City Community Theatre || Site by Team Creative Fire